Article 65-1953 deals with tattoos and piercings of a minor and prohibits any person from piercing, cosmetic tattoos or tattoos on minors under 18 years of age, unless there is written and notarized consent and the parent or guardian appointed by the juvenile court is present during the proceedings. The tattoo artist is required to keep a copy of the written authorization for a period of at least five years – the violation is a Class A offense. Just because a state law allows it doesn`t mean a tattoo artist will consent to tattoo a 13-year-old. While there are strict safety and hygiene standards for tattooing, Nova Scotia does not have a minimum age. Instead, tattoo shops set the minimum. Sometimes, if the authorities find out that you lied about your age to get a tattoo, they will take legal action against the salon or the person you got tattooed from. In some states, this could mean being charged with a misdemeanor, fined hundreds of dollars, and/or even spending time in jail for each offense. General. Law chap. 112, §2 – requires that a tattoo be performed by a qualified doctor. Arizona`s tattoo and piercing law makes it illegal to tattoo or pierce a person under the age of 18 without the physical presence of that person`s parents or guardians. West Virginia Code, Chapter 16. Article 38 Tattoo Studio Business regulates the hygiene conditions applicable to tattoo studios: Tattooing and piercing a minor (La.
Rev. §14:93.2 ) prohibits any person from tattooing or piercing a minor under the age of 18, except with the consent of the parent or legal guardian of the minor, who must also be accompanied and supervised during the procedure. Most of the reasons why people in society consider tattooed youth socially unacceptable are because they don`t feel that minors are mentally ready to get tattooed before a certain age. However, society`s reaction to the fact that you are a minor with a tattoo may be different if people consider that you are someone who has a reasonable mental age is a tattoo. In Florida and Kentucky, if you are a minor, you must have notarized written consent from your guardian to get tattooed, but in Florida, Kentucky, and Georgia, you must obtain notarized consent to get piercings as a minor. N.D. Cent. Code §12.1-31-13 makes it a Class B offence to tattoo (as well as mark, pierce, scarify or insert a subcutaneous implant) a person under the age of 18, except for tattoos made with written consent and in the presence of the parent or guardian of the minor.
Medical procedures are also exempt from this rule. S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §26-10-19 makes tattooing of a minor without the parent`s signed consent a Class 2 offence. N.J.A.C. 8:27-1 ff. · Establishes sterilization, hygiene and safety standards for the tattoo industry to protect the health of the public. In the United States, there is no federal law regulating the practice of tattooing. However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have legal laws that require a person who receives a tattoo to be at least 18 years old. This is partly due to the legal principle that a minor cannot enter into a legal contract or give informed consent to proceedings. Most states allow a person under the age of 18 to get tattooed with the permission of a parent or guardian, but some states prohibit tattooing before a certain age, regardless of permission, except for medical reasons (such as marks for radiation therapy). Completed * Application for a Tattoo Establishment Licence ($200) Pass the inspection in accordance with sections 381.00771 to 381.00791, Florida Statutes, “The Practice of Tattooing” and Rule 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code.
Register the company name with the Florida Department of State. Contact the city/county for the potential need for a business tax receipt Completed * Biomedical Waste Permit ($85) Send all forms/fees to the county health department where your business is located. Yes, parents can give their baby tattoos or piercings if they have a medical or dental reason. People suffering from sunburn or skin diseases or disorders cannot be tattooed or pierced.  Some states do not allow a teen to get a tattoo or piercing of their tongue, regardless of parental consent, while other states do not have rules. This means that your teen may be able to enter a salon and get tattooed or pierced without your knowledge. Oklahoma only legalized tattooing in 2006 and was the last state to do so. To learn more about tattoo legislation or tattoo schools in Alabama, please visit the Alabama Department of Public Health website. If you think your teen might be tempted to get body art or body modification, talk about it.
Instead of just banning it, learn why your teen is interested in a particular tattoo or piercing. Each state has developed its own laws and regulations over the years (see below for a list of laws by state), and there are some states where a minor can legally get tattooed or pierced if their parents or guardians sign a written document giving consent to a minor. Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 3730.01 through 3730.99 prohibits the operation of a tattoo business without the approval of the health authority (required under section 3730.03 of the revised code). The Ohio Code also prohibits tattooing without meeting the safety and hygiene standards of the relevant chapter as well as the rules set forth in section 3730.10 of the revised Code. It is also prohibited to tattoo invasive equipment (or parts thereof) described in section 3730.10 of the revised Code without following appropriate standards of disinfection and sterilization.